Women Development Cell

In pursuance of the directions issued by the University Grants Commission and Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, the Nirma University has set up the Women Development Cell (WDC). The objective of the WDC is to provide and maintain a dignified, congenial working environment for women employees (including teaching, non-teaching and contractual workers) and students, where they can work, study and explore their potential to the fullest. They can approach the Women Development Cell in case of any grievance.

To provide and maintain a dignified congenial working environment for women employees (including teaching, non-teaching and contractual workers) and students where they can work, study and explore their potential to the fullest, the WDC has been constituted at the Nirma University.

Roles and Functions

  1. To sensitize all members of Nirma University community towards the Supreme Court
    and statutory mandate prohibiting gender discriminations and sexual harassment at the work place and encourage involvement through academic, cultural and outreach activities such as talks, seminars, workshops, community action, drama, street theatre,
    poster-making etc.
  2. To provide for dialogue, discussion, and deliberation on woman’s rights and gender related issues. To encourage participation from NGOs and law enforcement agencies in this area
  3. To become a resource centre for women and provide a forum for exchange of ideas
  4. To review safety and security measures for female employees and girl students on the University campus.

Who can approach the WDC
Any employee including faculty, staff, contractual, temporary, casual and student of Nirma University can approach the WDC.

Members of Women Development Cell 

Name Designation
Dr. Shalini Rajkumar Chairperson
Prof Jigna Shah, Institute of Pharmacy Faculty Coordinator
Ms. Vibha Gajjar, Institute of Architecture & Planning
Ms. Ritu Agrawal, Publications Officer, Nirma University Staff Coordinator
Dr. Neha Patni, Institute of Technology Member
Dr. Amee Nair, Institute of Science
Ms. Shreya Srivastava, Institute of Law
Dr. Krishna Patel, Department of Design
Dr. Praneti Shah, Institute of Management
Dr. Nagja Tripathi, Institute of Pharmacy
Ms. Pratima Singh, Institute of Architecture & Design
Dr. Avani Shah, Institute of Commerce
Dr. Nilesh Patel, Nirma University
Dr. Ravindra Sen, Nirma University
Ms. Ishwa Shah (18BCE218 ) & Shri Himanshu Sharma (17BEC105), Institute of Technology Student Representative
Ms. Priya Patel (18FTPHDS45) & Shri Devang Trivedi (19FTPHDS47), Institute of Science
Ms. Chahat Mangtani (16BAL016) & Shri Shivam Sharma (19BBL053), Institute of Law
Ms. Akanksha Kanamadi (18BDI003) & Shri Shaunak Roychowdhury (18BDI032), Department of Design
Ms. Adrija Chattopadhyay (MBA-FT-I) & Shri Roopam Sodhani (MBA-FT-I), Institute of Management
Ms. Bhakti Thakker (18BHP006) & Shri Kunj Vyas (18BHP043), Institute of Pharmacy
Ms. Charmi N. Gondaliya (18BPL006) & Shri. Jvalant N. Devrukhkar (18BAR049), Institute of Architecture & Design
Ms. Harshita Gupta (IC191116) & Shri Prince Parekh (IC191243), Institute of Commerce
Ms. A.P. Parshya, Asst. Registrar (Ph.D. Section), Nirma University Member Secretory



Dr. Shalini Rajkumar
Chairperson, Women Development Cell (WDC)
Professor, Institute of Science, Nirma University
Phone: 079- 71652757

Ms. A.P. Parshya
Member Secretary, Women Development Cell (WDC)
Assistant Registrar (Ph.D. Section)
Phone: 079-71652685

Get our Newsletter